As I sit here pondering if I should do my homework, watch Jersey Shore or do both at the same time, I constantly refresh the pages of my Facebook and Tumblr blog. I have this need to know what is happening in the lives of my friends back home or the ones in the virtual world. I always want to be updated on what is going on. The Internet gives oxygen to the fire of my addiction of always wanting to know; it is “timely, relevant and easy to process” (Born Digital 242). I’d rather refresh my tabs and scroll the pages until I find something new than do my calculus homework (or be productive). For Digital Natives, the internet has been accessible and easy to use, and with the new technological advances, it’s even more accessible. Look at GA Tech, wherever you go on campus, you are able to log onto the WiFi that is provided. You never have to leave the virtual world. This addiction may cause grades to drop or worst. You could possibly just want to sit in front of your computer instead of going outside  and enjoy the sunlight with friends. I know for me, some days I’d just rather sit inside and be alone with my computer than make the effort to be bubbly and social. It makes it easy for people to become recluses. This technological surge may cause more problems than foreseen.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jessicaanncrabb
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 20:51:47

    I love the “oxygen to the fire of my addiction” line, and I understand what you’re saying about refreshing and adding about million different tabs, but I think it takes a certain kind of person or personality to allow internet access to alter themselves that completely, or at least I hope it does :).

    Reply

  2. msaha3
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 13:00:09

    I definitely agree with you! The homework I do on the computer gets done alot slower than paper because I am so distracted by whats happening with everyone else! I love how you quoted the book cause you made it relevant to whats going on in our bubble of Tech. What calc class are you in?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

