Fall Break

For fall break, my roommate and I drove to Memphis, Tennessee with some friends from high school to see the play, Wicked. The show was amazing. I enjoyed every part of it. I was singing along to the songs and enjoying the show. It was really cool how technology was used to engage the audience with the performers on stage. There was a mechanical dragon that was on top of the stage that would move and glow during songs, and the usage of lighting helped add to the show. At one point during the play, lights were used to portray rain. It almost looked real. I sat on the edge of my seat the entire time. It was so much fun.

The lack of technology on our part caused problems, however. We did not have a GPS, and we are not the best at reading directions. On our way back to Atlanta, we got on the interstate, and the interstate ended. It just ended! So we stopped for directions, and the nice lady pointed us in the other direction. We followed the directions, but we soon noticed that we were not on the same road that we came in on. I rummaged around the car looking for a map. Voila! I found one. We were going the right way except we were on a smaller highway. Even though we are part of a generation solely dependent on technology to help us, we found our way home. 8 hours later, I was back home. The ride back from Memphis to Atlanta was an adventure. It was fun getting lost and then finding our way. We were independent of parents and technology. It was refreshing.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tamikim
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 01:14:58

    I like how you contrasted the pros and cons of technology! I really want to see the play, and the technical effects they used seem cool. As for the road trip, I’m sorry you got lost, but this just proves that just because we’re “Digital natives,” we don’t need technology to help us all the time.

    Reply

  2. jessicaanncrabb
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 11:09:50

    I should probably learn to use paper maps as well. I can’t seem to get anywhere without my TomTom. GPS and google maps are one aspect of being a digital native that I’m completely reliant upon. Also, I love the idea that plays- such an old form of entertainment- can benefit from new technology.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

