Am I at a disadvantage because I’m a part of the “Dumbest Generation”?

According to Mark Bauerlein’s “Why Gen-Y Johnny Can’t Read Nonverbal Cues,” I’m a part of a generation that can’t hold their own when face-to-face with someone. I agree to an extent but not to the extent that Bauerlein puts it. I know I’d like to email a professor instead of going to his or her office hours because I’m somewhat intimidated by figures of authority. I also don’t want to spend 30 minutes to an hour talking to them. It’s more convenient to send the email that takes 5 minutes at most to write and click SEND in the comforts of my dorm room than biking to his or her office.

Bauerlein’s condescending tone makes his argument seem that my generation should be pitied because we don’t have the social skills that the previous generations had and have. I don’t think there’s an obligation to help my generation. My generation has one of the most competitive job markets at the moment. WE have to know how to communicate to even be considered for a job. Without it, you are in the dust. Most jobs have communication skills as one of their most important skills that they are looking for. Companies need to hire individuals who can relate to the consumers and sell their goods. As a consumer, I’d buy from the outgoing individual instead of the person hiding in the corner not saying anything.

Though it may seem like my generation has become a pack of non-social homebodies, we do know how to communicate with others electronically and physically. We’ve adapted to both.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. msaha3
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 16:36:43

    I completely agree that we are of the most competitive generation. We should cling to the old when we have new innovations rising. We need to progress! Although not just for progress’s sake, we can fix many communication problems in our age. If our globe becomes easier to communicate in, then diplomacy will be easier and more comprehensible.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

